How Do You Lose A Person (Reblogged)

Here is a post I blogged in January. I thought I would reblog it for my new followers, and to give me a shot of motivation. I did lose six pounds this week so I’m back to being motivated. This is for all who are contemplating weight-loss.

Why do you want to lose weight?

Stop and think about this simple question. Until you can answer this truthfully and passionately you will forever say “I have to lose weight”  and never do anything about it. When you consistently say you want to do something, then you don’t do it, it works on lowering your self-esteem. You feel less than because you are heavy, you feel less-than because you aren’t doing anything about it. You are in a bad place, and you might not know what to do about it. It seems to be an insurmountable dream.

If you read what’s out there about motivation, (and there are lots out there) you will find the information boils down to one main point: If you wait till you feel like doing something, you may never do anything. Sometimes, you have to take action first, then the motivation to go on comes afterward.  That’s what I did, without knowing it was what I was supposed to do to get out of a bad situation. I decided that I would give Weight Watchers Online a try, and went through the motions of starting the plan. I made it through my first meal, and felt a sense of accomplishment, and no hunger. Second meal, same result, Dinner and I realized what I had done; an entire day according to plan. And low and behold, I wanted to do more the next day and the day after that. If I had waited for the motivation, I would still be gaining weight and feeling badly about myself.

Reading more about motivation and attaining goals, I found the  following:

  • Be clear about your one goal and make it measurable
  • Break down the goal into smaller steps that are again, measurable
  • Go public with your plan – nobody wants to fail publicly
  • Read about what you’re doing – learn more about it
  • Find support with someone who will hold you accountable
  • Reward yourself when you reach milestones (don’t go out to eat as a reward please)
  • Make the goal exciting and then feel the excitement along the way as you hit your milestones

In my case, I :

  • Want to lose a person (150 lbs)
  • Want to fit into my extensive “skinny” wardrobe
  • Want to get an Ipad
  • Want to get off cholesterol meds
  • Want to sleep without GIRD and sleep apnea
  • Want to exercise six days a week for an hour at a time

OK, great list, but not concise, not measurable, and too lofty.  But, there is excitement. A good start.

  • Lose 150 lbs in 30 lb increments, losing an average of 2 lbs a week ,weighing myself once a week on Sundays
  • Get an outfit one size smaller to fit into (I raided my sisters wardrobe, but why not a consignment shop?) And when that is achieved get another outfit, etc
  • Start a savings account for the Ipad
  • Get a pedometer and see how much I walk a day, try for 10 minutes sustained activity, then 20 minutes, then 30 minutes till you reach an hour one day. Then build time again for day two, and so on. 10 minutes at a time.
  • Plan meals ahead of time, buying whats on sale and cooking interesting recipes
  • Get regular check-ups with Doctor

There’s motivation built into the plan. With a plan like this, accomplishments are a daily occurrence and they build on each other. And the results Started to show in the first week (11lbs) and each week since. And I am excited, and passionate, and you guessed it, MOTIVATED!

So, don’t wait till you’re ready, jump in and just start to do something, like joining Weight Watchers, or whatever plan you think will work for you. Then take the next small step, then the next, and you too will be on your way to losing that weight you’ve wanted to get rid of for years. You will lose pounds and gain self esteem and motivation that will carry you through till you reach your goals.

2 thoughts on “How Do You Lose A Person (Reblogged)

  1. Great, honest post! Thanks for sharing. You are definitely not alone…and I have found Weight Watchers Online to be effective and almost fun! Good luck with your efforts!

    • Thanks for commenting! Yes, I find WW Online to be fun as well. Your encouragement is much appreciated as well. Are you on WW Online now? How much have you lost?

Leave a Reply

