In The Kitchen – Lentils

Cooking several dishes at once just works for me. I don’t feel like cooking everyday. My budget is liking this plan as well. This week it’s Monique’s Lentils, Spicy Black Bean Soup, and a new recipe I’m trying called Chick Pea Stew. I’m going for filling and inexpensive.

Today I’ll share my recipe for Lentils. This is a dish that is healthy and is comfort food. You feel very satisfied and cared for when eating it. I make it in the pressure cooker in 17 minutes. You can make it on the stove top, I don’t know how long it would take till the lentils are soft, there are numerous sources on how to cook lentils.  The lamb makes this dish. I’ve made it with ham and it’s fine, just not as good as with lamb. And it’s best eaten the next day, even with the pressure cooking.

Monique’s Lentils

4 cups Turkey or Chicken Stock. (I use Turkey)

1 lamb shoulder blade chop (you want about 6 oz of meat)

1 pkg dried lentils

1 pkg frozen chopped spinach

4 cloves garlic

1 – 1 1/2 cups chopped yellow onion

1/2 cup chopped carrots

bay leaf

olive oil

salt to taste

Turn cooker to brown and add olive oil. When hot, brown the lamb on both sides.

Add onions and garlic and saute for a few minutes.

Add remaining ingredients and set cooker for 17 minutes.

Let it release naturally,

Salt to taste

Serve either by itself or over rice

6 servings

8 points per serving

8 thoughts on “In The Kitchen – Lentils

  1. I was just telling Hubby I’ve never tried lentils. He couldn’t believe it. This recipe sounds good. It might just have to be my first lentil dish. Thank you!

  2. Pingback: Cooking Could Not Be An Easier When Using These Tips | Mom's Best Kitchen Gadgets

  3. Pingback: Berghoff lentil soup « Foodie Joanie

  4. Pingback: Meat free week – day two | dreamalittle…dreamalot

  5. Pingback: The Weekly Facts of Loss ?lbs | Monique Egelhoff

Leave a Reply

