On The Way To FInding Myself

“I’ve never understood what people mean when they say they have to find themselves. We know who we are. The hard part is being that person. It’s always so much easier to be someone else.”

The Kindness of Strangers

Mike McIntyre

I know the name of this blog says I’m trying to find myself, but what does that really mean? I am comfortable in my skin now, more than I’ve ever been. And I do have a sense of who I’m supposed to be and yes, it is difficult to be that person. I want to put on masks, like I do when I go to work, or go out socially. I may know who I am but I may not let you know me. It’s a protective measure.  What I mean by finding myself is to get to the reason why I have never felt thin in my life and peel away the layers of excuses as to why that is and change my thinking so that when I get thin this time, I feel it, believe it, and live it as my truth.

The Weigh-In

This week I stayed the same. Last weeks cookies and “sick eating” coupled with some less than stellar food choices this week have caused this. I know what I did. I want to be “perfect” and just do the right thing all the time, but I am finding that I am human and that means going off track from time to time. Accepting this is a challenge for me. I have perfectionist tendancies and they are difficult to overcome. But necessary. Weight Watchers knows this and expects you to derail from time to time as the natural process of losing weight. Since I tend to be unforgiving about things, this is new to me.  A realistic approach to the task of weight-loss is new to me. The last time I did this and the last program I followed was so regimented and unrealistic and painful, that seemed normal and expected as a weight-loss plan. Weight Watchers is so much easier on you and I can see how this is a lifestyle that can be maintained for a lifetime.

In The Kitchen

I haven’t been in the kitchen much since being sick, cooking on the fly really or eating my frozen convenience foods made awhile ago. I was approached by a book publisher to review their book “Ms. Skinny Slow Cooker Cookbook”, and I will be featuring recipes and a review from that book in the near future. Link to the book on Amazon is:http://www.amazon.com/Skinny-Ms-Slow-Cooker-ebook/dp/B0077UK970/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1331458079&sr=8-2. Note that the book I’m working with is not the natural book which is 19.99. I’m working with the 9.99 one.

Product Details

I haven’t been writing on this blog since getting sick, but I will be more attentive now that I’m better. I’ve started writing professionally for the internet and that has taken up some of my time and energy.  I’ll post about this experience a little later, after I’ve completed more assignments.

3 thoughts on “On The Way To FInding Myself

  1. So there is our plan for your visit! We can do lots of movement in the guise of exploring. We will put the miles on our pedometers! “I think I can, I think I can… 🙂

  2. It’s funny you say that because my mother is making meals – starting last week – from that same, exact cookbook:)) If you want any verification about its effectiveness, I can tell you that my mom has lost a good amount of weight because of the meals in there:))Great post and I look forward to sharing more with you:))

  3. Pingback: Flying Solo « The Authentic Me

Leave a Reply

