Skinny Ms 15 Bean Burgoo

Here is the first recipe from Skinny Ms Slow Cooker Recipes. The name was intriguing to me. It’s a stew from the Kentucky area that features at least 3 separate things. There is no single recipe for it; the meats vary from kitchen to kitchen as does the vegetables and seasonings. Now, I made the investment in a slow cooker and found it easy to use. I did buy the Crockpot name because I wanted the quality for an item that would be working as long as it works.  I just had visions of a short-circuit or something with a lesser known brand.

I’ll list the recipe as it is in the book. At the end I’ll expound on changes I made, my opinions, etc.

1 cup dried 15 bean mix

1 1/2 cups fat-free, low sodium chicken broth

1 cup water

1 tble olive oil, divided

2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts cut into bite size pieces

1 pound stew meat, trimmed of visible fat

2 garlic cloves, minced

1 small sweet onion, diced

1/4 tsp sea salt

2 potatoes, cut into 1 to 2 inch pieces

3 carrots peeled and sliced

2 ribs celery, chopped

1/4 red pepper flakes

1/2 tsp black pepper

1 tsp Hungarian paprika

1 bay leaf

1 cup frozen okra

1 cup corn, no sugar added

1 14 1/2 oz can petite  diced tomatoes

Sort beans. Rinse and place in a large pot with 3 cups water. Bring to a boil and reduce heat and simmer for 2 minutes Cover beans and soak in existing water overnight.

Drain and rinse beans. Add beans chicken broth and water to slow cooker.

Add 1/2 tble oil to large skillet lightly brown the chicken and meat. Drain any fat and discard. Add meats to slow cooker. Add 1/2 tble oil to skillet and saute onions and garlic till tender. Add garlic, onion and remaining ingredients to slow cooker. Cover and cook on low for 8-9 hours.

Yield 16 1/2 cup servings. Points = 9 points per cup serving

 

Things I changed: I used all chicken broth, no water. I used “regular” paprika as I did not have Hungarian. And I cooked it on high for 5 hours due to a time constraint.

What I thought: There wasn’t enough broth and I like a thick stew and this was more like a soup. It was different having the chicken and beef in one dish. I liked it, but I would like to make changes to this recipe so it suits my personal taste more. So, you’ll see this again, but with my spin on it.

Leave a Reply

