The Dance

Changing your lifestyle is not easy. Yes, this statement comes as a surprise to me. When I first started this journey, everything clicked and fell together with ease. The food was easy to prepare, it was good, I was engaged and it was fun. I proudly extolled the virtues of Weight Watchers Online to anyone who would listen, proudly stating it was a program I could be on for the rest of my life. It was new, and again, it was fun. The weight peeled off and I relished my newfound success. As time progressed the weight loss slowed, but continued. More time went by and the weight loss plateaued and the newness wore off. No longer fun, this weight loss journey became work. And the loss was sporadic.

Weight loss is like a relationship, with all the same stages. My track record with relationships is spotty at best, so here I am, stalled, feeling overwhelmed and discouraged and knowing that the answer lies somewhere inside me to resume the fight and get back to losing. The honeymoon is over and now comes the work to keep putting one foot in front of the other, making the time between weigh-ins productive and focused. The newness must be replaced with tenacity and resolve. My previous negative experiences  with relationships pushed to the back burner and a new trial and error education has commenced.

No room for failure, I went very public early on in this battle between me and the food and the exercise. I did it by design. It’s easy to fail in private, and success is best experienced with others to share the journey. I thought all I would write about would be the positives of the journey. But that’s not realistic, is it? So, I share with you the struggle; dirty and painful. Food pulls at me and we dance, sometimes I lead, sometimes the food leads. The goal is for me to lead always.

I have a goal. I have a plan. I have the desire. I have a public platform. Now, I resume the work needed to get this journey back on track.  Stay with me, because I have a feeling this is going to be an interesting ride.

5 thoughts on “The Dance

  1. Keep it fresh. Find a new recipe, try a new workout or discover a new place to hike. And be gentle with yourself the gain didn’t happen in a week neither will the loss.

  2. I struggle with maintaining a weight loss from a few years ago, plus trying to shed a few more pounds. I know my key (when I am successful) is to think differently about the way I eat. The book that really motivates me is The Beck Diet Solution: Train Your Brain to Think Like A Thin Person by Judith S. Beck, Ph.D. If you haven’t read this book, I would suggest giving it a try. Good luck on your weight loss journey!

  3. Hmmm. That sounds like an interesting book to read. Thanks for the tip. Monique…hang in there. You have overcome bigger obstacles before…like my teasing! I know you can, I know you can, I know you can.
    Your loving sister

Leave a Reply

